Students in the News

Michele Patrizii

Michele Patrizii was awarded an NIH F31 fellowship "Proteasomal regulations of BMI-1 and impact on tumor initiating cells in glioblastoma" in July 2017.

Bitha Narayanan

Bitha Narayanan received the 2017 Victor Stollar award.  Bitha's research focuses on viral infections, the immune system, and immunotherapy.

Alejandra Laureano Ruiz

Alejandra Laureano Ruiz received an NIH F31 entitled Role of Shox2 in Zebrafish Otic Neuron Development in December 2016.

Liping Lou

Liping Lou received an American Heart Association fellowship "Control of the Mg-permeant Ion Channels by PDZ Scaffold NHERF Proteins" in December 2016

Alexandra Nguyen

Alexandra Legeza Nguyen received an NIH F31 fellowship "Investigating the Discrete Functions of the Aurora Kinases in Meiosis I" in July 2016.

Przemyslaw Swiatkowski

Przemyslaw Swiatkowski received a NJ Commission on Brain Injury Research Fellowship "The Role of Cypin in Recovery of Electrophysiological and Cognitive Functions followint Traumatic Brain Injury" in June 2016.

Urmimala Basu

Urmimala Basu received an American Heart Association Fellowship "Mechanism and regulation of human mitochondrial DNA transcription" in May 2016.

Jinhee Park

Jinhee Park is first author on a paper in Methods in Molecular Biology, July 2017. "In Vitro Modulation of Endogenous Alternative Splicing Using Splice-Switching Antisense Oligonucleotides."

Ilija Melentijevic

Ilija Melentijevic was awarded an NIH F31 fellowship "Dissecting Molecular Mechanisms Devoted to Neuronal Extrusion of AggregatedNeurotoxic Proteins"in September 2017.

Fei Wang

Fei Wang had an internship in the INSIGHT Data Science Fellowship Program for the summer of 2017.

Yuhan Zhao

Yuhan Zhao was awarded an F99 fellowship "The regulation of mutant p53 protein accumulation and GOF activity in tumors" in September 2017.

Mark Pinkerton

Mark Pinkerton is first author on a paper in Methods in Molecular Biology, September 2017. “In Vitro Translation Assays for Selenocysteine Insertion.”

Yuanwang Pan

Yuanwang Pan has been awarded the 2017 - 2018 Aaron Shatkin Scholarship.

Chetan Rane

Chetan Rane is first author on a paper in Genomics, October 2017. “Decrypting the PAK4 transcriptome profile in mammary tumor forming cells using Next Generation Sequencing.”

Jose Planta

Jose Planta is first author on a paper in Genetics, October 2017. “Quality Protein Maize Based on Reducing Sulfur in Leaf Cells.”

Yang Yang

Yang Yang is first author on a paper in The AAPS Journal, March 2018. “Fucoxanthin Elicits Epigenetic Modifications, Nrf2 Activation and Blocking Transformation in Mouse Skin JB6 P+ Cells.”

Praveen Bommareddy

Praveen Bommareddy has been chosen as 1 of 30 young, emerging leaders in cancer immunotherapy by the Society of Immunotherapy in Cancer.